What to expect at a Wilson Luna event: An honest review

If you’re a big Wilson Luna fan, there’s one of two reactions you’ll have to this. Either it will offend you, or you’ll feel sorry for me for not being ‘compatible’ with Luna’s teachings.

I really hope it is the first, for the latter is exactly what you are being conditioned to believe each minute you spend in front of this NLP and sales master.

tl;dr: Avoid like the plague

Upon leaving his 2 day Entrepreneurial Intensive, my predominant emotion was sadness. A deep sadness for all the poor people that had been caught hook, line and sinker and trapped within a crazy, crazy world.

Once I made it home, it felt like my mind was recovering from a 2 day battery of intensive NLP and sales techniques. There is not a doubt in the world that Wilson Luna is a sales genius. An ethical one? I’m not so sure.

It was early on the second day where a few of us started catching on to some of the tricky things he was up to. The biggest clue was seeing how his many minions, dressed in black around the edges of the room, were acting. With their relentless single claps (what the hell is that?), yelling “yes, yes” at every second sentence, spontaneous jumping around in fits of happiness or long embraces in the middle of the talk, it was as if they were under the effect of a spell, or hypnotized. As the weekend wore on, this weird stuff just got more and more intense. It seemed that they were basically falling deeper and deeper into Luna’s trap. It was actually really scary and saddening to watch.

The Value

It wasn’t all bad though. The guy definitely has some solid business advice. None of it could be remotely classified as groundbreaking, but many people could take away a few great pointers and concepts provided they are willing to sacrifice a full two days.

The marketing will tell you that the Entrepreneur Intensive is high content with minimal selling. While Wilson is very very good at hiding his sales pitch, in reality the whole thing is just one big pitch with maybe 5% actual content sprinkled through.

I wouldn’t have gone to the event if a few people hadn’t said that the content was worth going for. Free seminars almost always suck. But somehow, he’s even convinced the minions that it is a high content seminar. These minions act as his sales army, much like other semi-cults like Landmark.

Perhaps the biggest value was in his “business teardowns.” This is where people in the audience get up and pitch their business, and Luna tears it down and explains what’s good about it, what sucks, and the direction he would go. There was definitely some gold in here. A common theme among his advice was to become a supplier or distributor of whatever it is that you do. To be in with a chance to get stood up, you parted with $100 for the VIP package, which I regrettably took. Fortunately I did have a chance to speak. However, a miscommunication resulted in being advised to ditch building software and instead do software services.

My biggest takeaway was a mindset shift in the way I see rich people. My usual reaction to a dude in a Ferrari is “fuck you rich prick”. That was turned on its head, which is a good thing in my opinion.

The Not-So Value

wilson luna portrait

Wilson Luna Portrait
(Let’s get this to rank on Google Image search too)

The biggest thing being drilled into your brain for 2 days is that you will likely not succeed in business without following Luna’s advice.

Towards the end of day one I’d even started believing this. Absolute fucking insanity.

He seems to build up a kind of “us versus everyone else” mentality, where the people in the room are almost guaranteed to succeed and everyone else not so much. He even likened signing up to his $5k program to betting on roulette with 90% odds…

You’re also being told over and over that it is wise to invest in your business’ future. You’re told (in subtle ways) that not spending money will hold your business back. Conveniently, you get many opportunities to spend $5,000 at the back of the room.

The real question is if the money will give you any actual value. My researched and honest opinion would swing pretty heavily towards a no.

That money basically gives you access to 4 seminars in Australia each year (more if you want to travel to London) and a Facebook group. I spoke to many minions who were adamant the content of each seminar was always new and valuable. When asked what kind of things changed, they really struggled. I’d be willing to bet that there isn’t a whole lot of extra content being delivered – just more NLP trickery to convince them to sign up all of their friends.

I personally know people who have dropped over $10,000 into this guy and don’t have an actual functioning business yet. Ouch.

Should you go?

You honestly may get some value out of this seminar. But there is no way it is worth 2 days of your life, especially a weekend. If you are the type of person susceptible to hypnosis, my suggestion is to stay a long, long way away from this.

And some people have even done research into the guy’s past to see if the things he claims about his business prowess are even legit. It doesn’t seem so. The whole thing could very well be a load of shit.

Update 18/05/15

Check out this new post from Gallina for a great [heartbreaking] list of online reviews from people who lost their last money and more to the Luna.

18 Responses to What to expect at a Wilson Luna event: An honest review

  1. Ben Walker August 14, 2014 at 12:34 pm #

    Wow… Unfortunately you’re not the only one with this experience / view…
    In the days of ‘You are who Google says you are’ Wilson certainly isn’t kicking any goals (even on the first page of results)…
    Bravo for posting your experience too.

  2. Emily August 20, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

    Hi… I attended this event (well one day of it) and was horrified by the advice Luna was giving… I actually work in Business Strategy and it was obvious he is a fraud… I felt really angry he was ripping people off and tried to contact the ACCC who told me to contact the police but they can’t report it as fraud as there is no victim.. I didn’t buy anything… If anyone has been ripped off though you should contact the ACCC or the police and they will investigate the fraud. The number for the police is 131444 or the ACCC website is below http://www.scamwatch.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/693900

  3. Jimmy August 24, 2014 at 11:40 pm #

    Cheers Ben. Totally amazed at the sheer number of people who believe it. What’s worse is that since the event I’ve been told about a bunch of other people doing similar stuff…

  4. Jimmy August 24, 2014 at 11:43 pm #

    Damn 🙁 I have a feeling this would have been done before and would put money on him having some very expensive lawyers.

    Wonder what would happen if we got a few people together to complain

  5. Mick August 27, 2014 at 1:22 pm #

    I have to agree with you guys. I have just attended the 2 day CMP (CEO Master Program) this week. Wilson spent most of the time doing his NLP. Lot of crying people in the room.

    I do like his network, he has got lot of people (20% are entrepreneurs) coming to this event, great place to network. I got what I need out of it, but I’m worry about most of the people in there. because they can’t tell which advice is good and which one are bad.

    First day, he got lot of existing members to go up on the stage and talk about their businesses. He did give few good advice, but most of the advice are basic business 101.

    Day 2, Big business(People with more than 10 staff), He didn’t give enough chance for the business owner to explain about the business plans, he keep on cutting people off halfway through their sentence, and start making judgement on why the business wouldn’t work and asking everyone to agree with him. How can he tell if the business is good or not without knowing any of their business plans?

    Very funny at the end of day, he was trying to sell his next level program. On the back of the booklet, got few guys given some feedback on their experience. One of the guy said (I can’t remember the exact word):”Wilson help him realize his 1.9 million dollar business can be 4.9 million dollars”. I actually talked with him during the break, he just start the business and hasn’t make anything yet, so his business is worth zero dollars in my books.

    Wilson’s business skill level is for small to medium size business (2 million or under).

    I will continue to stay with this group for this year to build my network.

  6. Jo September 24, 2014 at 7:37 pm #

    You are absolutely right! His regional manager, Nadeem Azfal, is a Fraud Lawyer, with years of experience in dealing with white collar fraud cases.

    Wilson, strategically, took him on shortly after people started to complain in the UK.

    http://www.nadeemafzal.co.uk/page5.php

    https://m.facebook.com/nadeem.afzal.39?fref=ts

    There are now lots of reports against him. Sadly, he has built an empire on deception and ripped quite a few people off.

  7. Jo October 17, 2014 at 9:11 am #

    http://companycheck.co.uk/company/08103689

    Company check says

  8. Chris December 16, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

    I am going to be trying this program myself. At worst case scenario I loose 2 days. I read the negative comments about this program, but still would like to try it. What people don’t realize is that entrepreneurship is not something you can easily learn. It is something that you need to have in you. Entrepreneurship is not for everyone so this program would not work for everyone.

    Entrepreneurs are usually considered to be creative people; people who are willing to take risks and think outside the box. They tend to be loners who feel they can do just about everything necessary to start and run a business. Their passion originates from a desire to do something better than what is being done currently. They work from the depth of a vision. They are generally resourceful people. If you don’t have some of these qualities already then you should not try such a program.

  9. Ritu December 17, 2014 at 3:25 pm #

    Thanks for this honest review Jimmy. One of my best friends in Australia is a massive Luna fan and it is properly frightening to watch her actions and hear her talk about his stuff. It breaks my heart too. It just stinks of manipulation. And Landmark stinks of something awful too, I can’t place my finger on it, but I wrote an honest review of Landmark on my blog: http://thelifester.com/spirituality/my-review-of-the-landmark-forum/
    Any tips on how I can help my friend here to open her eyes to this Luna stuff? Thanks. x Ritu

  10. Strange Matt January 15, 2015 at 10:29 pm #

    Today I’ve got a phone call from one of Lunas minions inviting me to one of his events next Saturday. I was surprise to receive that call, especially since I forgot I signed up a mailing list on one of business events I went to last year, they obviously didn’t.
    The call was exactly what you would expect from a business like his, adding personal inviting phrases like ‘Luna ask me personally to call you’, ‘that’s a fantastic opportunity for you’, giving me hints how fortunate I am to be chosen and how much can I gain from this event, and the most important thing spelling my name between every sentence because maybe I didn’t know he is actually talking to me.
    This behaviour is a big red flag that clearly indicates what are we dealing with, at least I know since I possess a skill called critical thinking, but plenty of people doesn’t and are gullibly hooked up to the idea that they are being personally selected and will increase their chances of making easy money based on the new revolutionary knowledge given to them by a person who apparently made millions. But did he really? What do you know about him aside form the fact he’s using cheap old tricks and manipulation techniques to attract people to participate in his events? Is his life story even real?
    I’ve seen plenty of preachers like him in the past, and most of them are feeding on people who are desperate for their ideas to work, selling them ‘short cuts’ to success and promise them easy money.
    The truth is, there is no short cut to become a millionaire, you need to be smart, work hard and be honest and critical with yourself.
    I would advice everyone to always double check your sources of information and think twice before making important decisions. Also most important, always ask questions and challenge other peoples ad your own believes because that’s the way you learn how things work.

  11. Jimmy January 28, 2015 at 8:41 am #

    Looks like my email notifications weren’t working and I never saw this comment 🙁

    I agree with you. Wilson’s program though is less about being an entrepreneur and more about taking money from vulnerable people.

  12. Jimmy January 28, 2015 at 8:45 am #

    Hey Ritu. Looks like my email notifications weren’t working and I never saw this comment. Really sorry 🙁

    I know that feeling for sure. TOTALLY agree with you on Landmark too. I’ve never been, but listening to people who are right into it is really similar to listening to Luna advocates rave on.

    Truth be told I have no idea how to approach the subject with people. A friend of mine was recently getting into Amway. I said something to the effect of “look, I wouldn’t feel right if I didn’t say this to you. This is what they do, this is why it is dodgy. If you still go ahead with it please be careful… You’re a cool person and I don’t want to see you end up like…. ” and left it at that

  13. Jimmy January 28, 2015 at 8:47 am #

    Haha yep I got that same call. Shut them down straight away though. If I kept listening I’d just rage out.

    Thanks for the comment 🙂 All good points and questions

  14. Galina May 17, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

    Hey Jimmy, hope you are well. An update for you about Luna’s most recent antiques: http://galinaimrie.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/who-is-wilson-robert-luna-essential.html

  15. Galina May 17, 2015 at 8:36 pm #

    Antics:)

  16. Alfie June 5, 2015 at 5:13 am #

    Update: Nadeem no longer works for Wilson, he got wise like quite a few others.

  17. Jimmy June 9, 2015 at 8:49 am #

    That’s good to hear. If only it was a domino effect

  18. Anon July 17, 2015 at 10:47 am #

    Unfortunately I fell victim to this disgraceful, malicious and conniving group of fraudsters, especially Wilson Lunatic. He preys on the vulnerable and ensures that their wounds are trampled on until they feel like he is their God (prophet ) who will save them from ‘even more’ failures. I hate this man with a passion. He is pure evil. I attended his free 2 day seminar in hope of getting inspired to better my life. I can safely say not only did it ruin my life, the heartless NLP manipulation, emotional abuse, mental confusion left me in despair and 3 years on I’m still needing psychotherapy to come through it. I used to be a positive hopeful inspiring happy person to be around, however after signing up to his course and getting myself into debt that I’m still paying off, I cannot see myself as anything but a failure. My friends and family couldn’t recognise me, and I lost many clients when I tried to apply his genius ideas to my small humble spiritual healing practice. I resigned from the course after my second ‘private workshop’ because I was absolutely physically mentally and emotionally destroyed after the ‘letter to my mum when I’m about to die’ exercise. I was told I had to pay off the rest of the money, which I did even though I never wanted to see his evil disgusting face again. He and his disciples (sıdra jafri being one of them) have left me disappointed in the human race, especially after calling themselves spiritual gurus. I have never in my life felt so cheated and abused, but I’m slowly turning things around and one day will come that I’ll get my justice. I hope you and your family go down so hard and fall flat on your f***ing faces, just like you’ve ruined many people’s families lives with your lies. You have ruined my entire belief, hope and faith in life but only temporarily. I will bounce back even stronger than before I met you, and once again will believe in myself as a kind hard working and loved human being, while you will rot in jail if there’s any justice in the world.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes